newsquest1

Having met with several potential advisers, the team at McCalmont-Woods impressed us with the way they focused on our needs and brief, finding the property to fit as opposed to starting with available properties and trying to shoehorn the brief to match. We had some tough ‘asks’ and we certainly put Nick’s extensive experience and market knowledge to the test. The Specialist Media team were very pleased with the move to Leman Street and we had no hesitation in appointing McCalmont-Woods to help find our second property in Midtown; a second successful project despite the incredibly tight deadlines. Knowledgeable, jargon-free, helpful and focused, I look forward to working with McCalmont-Woods on future projects.

Lisa Isaac, Group Purchasing Manager, Newsquest Media Group
December 22nd, 2016

hartree

Nick did a great job of finding a new London office space for Hartree. We appointed him after a previous property deal fell through at a late stage, leaving us with a relatively tight timeline to find new office space. Nick worked hard and found us a great space before it got advertised on the open market. He is a good communicator and we felt very well informed throughout the whole process; we would not hesitate to use him again.

Jon O’Neill, Managing Director, Hartree
August 5th, 2016

ben cook edit 10

Ipes is a niche business delivering administration and services to Private Equity. We have a natural affinity with a fellow specialist like Nick who has an excellent network of contacts, an incredible knowledge of buildings and a great eye for detail.

Ben Cook, Managing Director, Ipes (UK) Limited
October 12th, 2015

Dev Pragad

We’ve had incredible service from McCalmont-Woods – a really first-rate company who cut through the usual corporate bureaucracy. Nick gets IBT Media, he knows we’re hungry, ambitious and he was able to deliver a solution that really fits our needs. Because he’s an occupier specialist with great industry contacts he’s been able to negotiate with some of the biggest landlords and property firms. With McCalmont-Woods we know they’re going to get us the best deal.

Dev Pragad, UK & EMEA Managing Director, IBT Media
September 30th, 2015

Julie Woods-Moss

Nick did a fantastic job of finding Tata a great property in central London. We had tight budgets and tight timelines and Nick over delivered in spite of our constraints. He was professional and responsive at all times and a real pleasure to work with.

Julie Woods-Moss, Chief Marketing Officer & CEO Nextgen Business, Tata Communications
March 22nd, 2015

Jeremy Brookes

Nick provided good letting advice on our central London disposal instruction (3 Waterhouse Square). He was diligent, tenacious and conscientious in his approach.

Jeremy Brookes, Head of Estates, Corporate Property, Prudential Services Limited
March 11th, 2015

Tom Leopold

Nick has been superb every step of the way. Working in a service industry myself, I know the value that can be added by taking the correct advice. Nick made us look at things in a different way than we would have done on our own. As a result, we have the best outcome we could have hoped for.

Tom Leopold, Managing Partner, Porta Wealth Management LLP
April 3, 2014

IFRS

Nick represented us several years ago and again for a recent rent review for our central London offices. He was very knowledgable, analyzed our situation and took time to educate us as well. As a result we were in a very informed position when the landlord attempted to stall negtiations. Nicks views and his advice were ultimately spot on. More importantly, I think we reached a fair resolution for all parties as we have another rent review coming up with the same landlord. I would highly recommend Nick.

James Deissler, CPA, Senior Finance Manager – London, IFRS Foundation
March 26, 2013

Newsquest-Direct

Nick was recommended by a colleague and delivered a superb service resulting in a cost effective and stress free move to new premises. I would have no hesitation in recommending Nick to anyone requiring advice on lease renewal or a search for new offices.

Chris White-Smith, Managing Director, Newsquest Media Sales and Newsquest Direct
August 27, 2012

Tony-Murphy

Nick worked on extremely tight deadlines and kept the project on course. Without his effort & drive, we would have lost the opportunity to move to the ideal premises. I recommend him highly, even if he is a Liverpool fan!

Tony Murphy, Director, Harrisons Business Recovery & Insolvency Specialists
December 7, 2011

Tata

Nick McCalmont Woods contacted me initially to assist him with work he was doing for another client. As a result of our initial conversation, Nick became involved in assisting Tata Communications to find new offices in London. The brief was simple, to find us as much space as possible in the best possible location for the least cost possible!

Nick has proved professional in his dealing across all levels of management within Tata Communications and very quickly presented us with a number of viable options. The offices we finally settled on are fantastic value for money and provide an ideal environment for our employees.

I honestly do not believe we would have found our new central London location and been able to present such a strong business case to the Board without Nick’s assistance.

Fionnula Bentley, HR Director, TATA Communications
May 10, 2011

Ruth Hart-Leverton

I had the pleasure of working with Nick recently on the acquisition of approximately 14,500 sq ft in our London Headquarters. Nick was instrumental in helping us to complete the contract quickly and in securing the best deal possible. I would have no hesitation in recommending Nick and would be happy to work with him again.

Ruth Hart-Leverton, UK Office services and Communications Manager, DONG Energy
January 25, 2011

Marketform

It is incredibly important for any business to be able to trust its consultants. McCalmont-Woods has always delivered a level of service and bespoke expertise that is difficult to find elsewhere.

James K. Romer-Lee, Director, Marketform
July 1, 2010

reese

Nick recently provided smooth delivery of agency negotiation and advice on a significant office occupancy deal in the City (April 2010), for a mutual client. His experience and contacts ensured that there was a minimum of turbulence as the transaction progressed to successful completion. Will be reccommending NMC services to other London based client requirements in future.

Phil Rees-Roberts, Managing Director, Rees-Roberts Solicitors
April 17, 2010

Newspaper Society - Testimonials

McCalmont-Woods provides continuity of service and is expert in a wide range of disciplines. Nick originally acquired our space and then personally advised on our rent review and achieved an excellent result for us. He has become a trusted adviser.

Lynne Anderson, Communications Director, The Newspaper Society
February 22, 2010

cazenovecapitalmanagement

Nick carried out a rent review on our behalf. Throughout, his advice was clear and valuable, resulting in a very positive outcome for the firm. He combines an expert view with a commercial approach, thus making sure all options are understood, strategy agreed, then effectively implemented. He’s also extremely personable. I’d happily recommend Nick’s work to anyone.

Stewart Norwood, Director, Head of IT, Cazenove Capital Management
October 19, 2009

Julie-Grieve

Nick is a professional who sets himself apart by being clearly focused on understanding his client’s ultimate requirements and then securing them. I have always found his approach refreshing and I have no hesitation in recommending him.

Julie Grieve, Managing Director, Abbey Business Centres, UK
October 16, 2009

News-Quest

Nick has a rare ability to understand clients’ requirements quickly and to find appropriate solutions. I would be happy to recommend Nick to anyone seeking expert, impartial and personalised assistance with their commercial accommodation needs.

Tim Whitehouse, Managing Director, Newsquest Specialist Media
January 21, 2009

Trinity-Mirror

He acts in an utterly professional and conscientious way and has a unique ability to understand his clients requirements from day one, without being overawed by the task at hand.

Mike Shaw, Group Services Director, Trinity Mirror plc
July 3, 2009

Cazenove

His approach has always been one of “client first”. Taking the time to ensure he understands what’s required, ensuring we understand the options and being relentless in looking after our interests.

Bryan M. Hotston, Managing Director, CIO & Head of Property Services, JP Morgan Cazenove
January 21, 2009

Tom-Seidenstein

He did an excellent job in getting us very good deal from the landlords, which lowered our average rent significantly and provided some security on the service charges. He deserves a great deal of credit for the result.

Tom Seidenstein, Director of Operations, IFRS Foundation
January 21, 2009

sungard1

The process was extensive and well co-ordinated. Important for SunGard was that Nick McCalmont-Woods demonstrated a strong understanding of the central London property market that matched our requirements for lease flexibility with our specific financial needs (to include implications of US GAAP and internal lease levelling issues). This ensured that proposals submitted to SunGard were able to be swiftly assessed in terms of financial suitability.

Dean Gluyas, VP, Group CFO Europe, SunGard
July 26, 2006

Cazenove

Nick McCalmont-Woods has worked with Cazenove (now JP Morgan Cazenove) for 16 years or more.

Those responsible for property matters (which includes myself since 2001) have always found him to be pro-active, helpful, knowledgeable and pleasant to deal with. He gives good advice and understands our needs. We would not consider making any property related decision without first talking it through with Nick; he has been at the core of our property strategy for a long time.

Charles Bishop, Managing Director, HR & Operations, JP Morgan Cazenove
July 25, 2006

larger-Cazenove_B&W

I think it is fair to say that our property interests are complicated and varied at the best of times, and they are essential to the smooth running of our business. You have been at the very heart of our strategy, and have always given prompt, sound advice, responded quickly to our many and varied demands, and have been a pleasure to work with.

Diana Pinn, Head of Administration, Cazenove & Co
February 9, 2006